TEARS ARE HEALING

10009841_10151852343222574_573645414_n

“The indescribable grief I felt when I was forced to leave my father when I was twelve slowly turned into anger and bitterness. I felt rejected and unloved, and had no self-worth. When I was nearly fourteen years old, I realised I no longer cried. Alcohol was readily available, and with no parental supervision whatsoever, I began drinking at sixteen years of age.

In Susan Howatch’s book, Glittering Images, she wrote: “Which is better: to express grief and pain by using tear-ducts specially created for the purpose, or to express grief and pain by enduring a silent, secret hemorrhage of the soul?”

For many years my soul was hemorrhaging. As I grew older and began to drink, I discovered it was only when I was under the influence of alcohol that I could cry.”

EXTRACT FROM THE BOOK “God’s Promise for Families”

God, however, saw every tear that I cried and He lovingly “recorded all my tears and preserved them in His bottle! He recorded every one in His book” (Psalms 56:8)
How wonderful is that – God has seen and recorded every tear we have ever cried and with compassion in His heart has collected those tears and kept them, and us, close to His heart.
He is also the One who “will wipe away all tears” (Isaiah 25:8)

Jesus came into this world “to BIND UP the broken-hearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, ….to COMFORT all who mourn, and PROVIDE for those who GRIEVE…to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of GLADNESS instead of MOURNING, and a garment of PRAISE instead of a spirit of DESPAIR” (Isaiah 61:1-3)

God is our HEAVENLY FATHER and Jesus our COMFORTER

Leave a Reply

